forty: red velvet cookies (and a short update)

… so I failed in keeping up with my resolutions, but know this: I have been baking, and I didn’t post anything from June till today because:

(a) I haven’t found anything that was worth posting – most of the bakes were practically the same things that I’ve posted earlier and,

(b) You’d probably know how I prefer taking photos of my bakes in the day, but that proved to be almost impossible as I was busy working! (I tend to bake at night and I often rush to work in the morning. Go figure.)

Long story short, since my last work contract just ended last week, yes, you can expect more posts in here. Wish me luck. (For both baking, posting, and err …job hunting haha!)

Recently, I’ve made a few bakes. I currently call them “kitchen experiments” as I’m trying to go beyond my go-to recipes and preferred “safe” flavours; I’ve made a fruit tart, crème brûlée, pistachio cupcakes, a pistachio pound cake and a batch of salted caramel pretzel blondies. (The latter deserves a post of its own. Watch this space!)

Crème brûlée

Crème brûlée

PISTACHIO POUND CAKE

PISTACHIO POUND CAKE

honeypistachio

PISTACHIO CUPCAKES WITH HONEY VANILLA FROSTING

brownies

MY GO-TO BROWNIES

saltedcaramelblondies

SALTED CARAMEL PRETZEL BLONDIES

Most recently, I made red velvet cookies as a farewell gift for my colleagues. The recipe includes 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, which felt a little odd as I’ve never used cinnamon while making red velvet cupcakes. However, it gave the cookies, I don’t know, extra depth? It enhanced the cocoa flavour too.

2014-01-29 19.57.13-1

RED VELVET COOKIE BATTER

2014-01-29 19.50.25-2

2014-01-29 19.57.45

#NOFILTER #LULZZ

One gripe I have about this recipe is that the cookies tend to taste “crumbly” and slightly dry after just 2-3 days! #boo I’d recommend eating these cookies within 1-2 days. Plus, the cookies taste exceptionally wonderful when they’re freshly removed from the oven!

Red Velvet Cookies (from hungryhannahs)
Makes about  2 dozen cookies; Best to prepare batter overnight for chewier cookies!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar (Feel free to reduce the amount – I went for full sugar and it was really sweet)
  • 1 large egg, whisked
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I used essence)
  • 3/4 tsp red food colouring (I used a little more)
  • 1 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp plain flour
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 2/3 cup white chocolate chips

Steps

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and brown sugar together.
  2. Stir in the whisked egg, vanilla and red food colouring till everything is well combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together.
  4. Add the flour mixture into the butter mixture, and mix till everything is just incorporated. Mix in the white chocolate chips.
  5. Refrigerate the dough for 2 hours or till overnight (I made a batch and kept it overnight).
  6. Once your dough is ready, preheat your oven to 150 C.
  7. Roll your dough into 1-inch balls and place them on a lined/ greased baking tray. Leave about 2 inches of space between each ball as the cookie will expand slightly as it bakes.
  8. Bake for 11-13 minutes, or until the centre of the cookie looks firm.
  9. Remove from the oven, and let it cool slightly on the tray before transferring them to a cooling rack.
  10. Store cookies immediately once they’ve cooled. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “forty: red velvet cookies (and a short update)

Leave a Reply

