thirty nine: polvorones

Earlier this month, I was whisked off to China for almost a week to attend an ASEAN youth camp. I met plenty of ASEAN delegates, and it was a particularly memorable trip full of eye-opening gastronomic and cultural experiences. I’d never thought of going to China ever, so you can probably imagine how *excites* I was. You can read about my trip here!

So anyway, during the trip, we exchanged small gifts and souvenirs with other delegates. While I brought a box of Merlion biscuits (don’t laugh, I was hell bent on not bringing keychains or magnets), I received a few Polvoron cookies from the Philippines delegates. I only managed to taste the Polvoron last week and oh boy, they were DELISH.

Soft, crumbly and sweet: I knew that I had to make them for myself. Coincidentally, I found a simple recipe from one of my cookbooks (Keiko Ishida’s Okashi), and thus this entry.

ImageA few notes though: This recipe produced cookies that are unlike the Polvoron I tasted earlier. The consistency’s more like Suji Cookies: crispy, with a hint of that melt-in-your-mouth goodness. While I might use this recipe for this year’s Eid cookies, I am still not satisfied.

I really want to perfect the Polvoron, so the search does not end here definitely. After some googling, I think the secret’s in toasting the flour, and the use of milk powder.

ImageSounds pretty simple, no? Watch this space (;

Polvorones (from Okashi)
Makes about 16 cookies

Ingredients

  • 110g pastry or top flour (I used the latter)
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 40g icing sugar
  • 50g ground almonds

Steps

  1. Preheat your oven to 150 C. Sift flour and bake for about 25 minutes, stirring the flour occasionally while baking (I did this every five minutes). Remove from oven , and leave to cool.
  2. Keep oven heated at 150 C.
  3. Beat butter and icing sugar until soft. Add the ground almonds and mix well. Add flour and mix with a spatula until a smooth dough forms.
  4. Roll dough out to a thickness of 1 cm. Cut out shapes with your chosen cookies cutter, and place them on a lined baking sheet.
  5. Bake for about 20 to 25 minutes. Remove from oven and leave to cool on a wire rack.
  6. Dust the cooled polvorones with icing sugar, and store in an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

