thirty four: mini butter and earl grey pound cakes

I am not a firm believer of resolutions, but I think I am going to try to make one. For snaprolls, at least. Let’s see if my attempt in blogging monthly will be successful – discounting January, that is.

It’s been raining almost every day of late, not that I’m complaining… well only when I’m wearing my favourite leopard prints flats out because they soak up the rain every so eagerly. Yes, I digress.

EARL GREY, I HEART YOU

I bought a trio of loose leaf teas recently (Earl Grey, English Breakfast and English Afternoon), and I thought they’d give that lovely speckle if I threw a few teaspoons into a batter. These mini pounds cakes were snapped up almost instantly today. Could it be the cool weather that makes the thought of freshly baked, buttery loaves even more inviting? I’d like to think so. Plus, it’s a mini version of, say, a loaf – less guilt, no?

I think this basic recipe leaves room for exploration. A hint of cinnamon next time maybe? The aroma of the tea leaves in the freshly baked cakes was so delish, though the flavour was not as intense as I hoped it would be. Well, I guess I can always brew a pot of tea to accommodate.

SOFT AND FLUFFY

Mini Butter and Earl Grey Lemon Pound Cakes (from the lovely The Little Teochew)
Makes nine mini cakes

Ingredients

  • 170g butter
  • 200g sugar
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 160g plain flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • A few teaspoons of loose tea leaves, or 1-2 tea bags
  • Optional: lemon zest

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 175 C.
  2. Grease and flour your baking pans.
  3. Cream butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
  4. Add eggs, one at a time. Then add the vanilla essence.
  5. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Set aside.
  6. Alternate the dry ingredients with the milk.
  7. For butter pound cakes, you can choose to omit the tea leaves. Otherwise, throw in the tea leaves and some lemon zest, if desired.
  8. Bake for about 20 minutes or so. Mine took about 15 minutes.
  9. Leave to cool, and dig in!
2 thoughts on “thirty four: mini butter and earl grey pound cakes

Leave a Reply

