thirty two: macaroni and cheese for one + five minute chocolate chip cookie in a mug

Hello! I know it’s been a while since I posted here, so in case you were wondering what I’ve been up to lately:

  • I’m officially done with school (hopefully!), and I will be graduating this July, Insya Allah.
  • I’m interning now, writing articles and stuff. It has been all kinds of awesome so far.
  • I am contemplating on accepting my dad’s offer of a KitchenAid for my graduation gift. EXCITES. The thing is, I still have my grandmother’s trusty old Kenwood mixer, and I doubt there’s enough space in the kitchen to fit two mixers! I can’t possibly keep the KitchenAid in my room right? Or can I?

So anyway, I had to write an article about cooking for work, thus I managed to try two new recipes. Since sharing is caring, I included the recipes here as well. And thanks to Pinterest, I now have a list of recipes that I want to try soon… EXCITES. Anyway, follow me on Pinterest? (:

Image

Macaroni and Cheese For One (adapted from allrecipes.com)
Serves one. Or two, if you are willing to share.

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup uncooked macaroni
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon plain flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pinch of pepper
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese + additional 1-2 tablespoon for topping
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground mustard (optional, add this for more flavour)

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Fill a medium saucepan with water, and bring it to a boil. Stir in the macaroni, and let it boil for about 8 minutes, or until it is cooked but still firm to the bite (al dente). Drain, and set the pasta aside.
  3. Now, make the roux. In the same saucepan, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Stir in the flour, salt, pepper and milk. Whisk until smooth. Cook and stir constantly, for about 2 minutes, until the mixture thickens.
  4. Reduce heat to low, and add the shredded cheddar cheese. You can add the ground mustard, if you want. Keep stirring till the cheese melts, and the mixture is smooth.
  5. Stir in the pasta. Stir until well-combined. Spoon the mixture into the prepared baking dish or ramekin, and sprinkle the top with more cheese.
  6. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and melted through.
  7. Serve warm.
Image

Five Minute Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug (adapted from Melissa at No. 2 Pencil)
Serves one. Or two, if you are feeling generous today.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1-2 drops of vanilla essence
  • Small pinch of salt
  • 1 egg yolk (you do not need the egg white, but you can always make scrambled eggs with it later.)
  • Scant 1/4 cup of plain flour
  • 2 tablespoons chocolate chips

Steps

  1. Place the butter in a microwave safe mug. Melt the butter for about 30 seconds in your microwave.
  2. Next, add the white sugar, brown sugar, vanilla essence and salt. Stir to combine.
  3. Add the egg yolk. Stir to combine.
  4. Add flour, and stir again. Finally, add the chocolate chips and stir to combine.
  5. Cook in the microwave for about 40-60 seconds. It took about 50 seconds for my cookie to be done.
  6. Serve warm, or with a dollop of ice cream. If you let it cool for about 15 minutes, the cookie will have a slightly chewy consistency – only if you are willing to wait that is.
Image

Image

Image

One thought on “thirty two: macaroni and cheese for one + five minute chocolate chip cookie in a mug

Leave a Reply

