five: cinnamon lovin’

hello~ baked two batches of cinnamon rolls today for tomorrow’s picnic/meeting at marina barrage. i didn’t intend to bake two batches, it’s just that the first batch refused to rise and i wasn’t satisfied. so i did a second batch which, fortunately, rose beautifully. i skipped the icing/glaze this time, cos i thought they tasted kinda sweet on its own… or maybe it’s just me (:

Cinnamon Rolls (recipe adapted from one of my favourite baking blogs, ovenhaven)

1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
1 cup warm milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter
2 eggs
4 cups flour

Filling
1 cup brown sugar
2 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon powder
1/3 cup butter, softened

  1. Dissolve yeast in the warm milk.
  2. In a large bowl, mix butter, sugar and eggs. Pour in the milk mixture, followed by flour.
  3. Mix well, knead into a large ball. Cover the bowl with a damp towel and leave it to rise for one hour.
  4. When doubled in size, punch the dough down. Roll out the dough onto a lightly floured surface, forming a rectangle.
  5. Preheat oven to 200C.
  6. Spread softened butter over dough and sprinkle the filling all over.
  7. Roll dough, cut into slices (up to you how thick/thin you want it to be) and place each slice into a greased muffin pan (to me, it’s easier. plus you don’t have to worry about rolls sticking together!)
  8. Bake for about 10 minutes. Best devoured with a cup of tea. (:

2 thoughts on “five: cinnamon lovin’

  1. Oh wow, love how yours rise really well! I’m so glad the recipe worked for you. I’ve had readers mailing me asking why it didn’t work even after their umpteenth time, and it always stumps me 😛

    Lovely napkin too!

    • Maybe it’s in the yeast? My first batch didn’t rise cos I used an opened pack. The second batch was made with a fresh, new pack of yeast. 🙂 And it rose!

      Ikea has nice, cheap napkins! My fav ❤

Leave a comment